alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Alufont-47

Alufont-47 / AlCu4TiMg / EN 21000 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
T4 · Sand castingNot specified220–280300–4005–15
T6 · Sand castingNot specified240–350350–4203–10
T4 · Gravity die castingNot specified220–300320–4208–18

T4 condition: Original supplier in-house performance intervals (handbook p. 75); separately cast and casting-extracted samples are included. No wall thickness is stated for these ranges. Parenthetical values in the same row are casting minima at wall thickness ≤20 mm and are stored separately.

T6 condition: Original supplier in-house performance intervals (handbook p. 75); separately cast and casting-extracted samples are included. No wall thickness is stated for these ranges. Parenthetical values in the same row are casting minima at wall thickness ≤20 mm and are stored separately.

T4 condition: Original supplier in-house performance intervals (handbook p. 75); separately cast and casting-extracted samples are included. No wall thickness is stated for these ranges. Parenthetical values in the same row are casting minima at wall thickness ≤20 mm and are stored separately.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Official branded supplier record. The 2016 handbook pp. 76–77 gives ingot composition in mass %; single numbers are upper limits, not midpoints. The chemical designation is printed AlCu4TiMg in the chemistry table but AlCu4MgTi in the mechanical summary; identity is tied to the distinct Alufont-47 brand and numerical designation 21000, without assuming other equivalences. Mechanical ranges on p. 79 are supplier in-house performance ranges; bracketed figures are distinct casting minima for walls up to 20 mm (p. 75). No thickness is assigned to the performance ranges. Fatigue ranges on p. 79 have no cycles or stress ratio in that summary, so they are not published as standard fatigue endpoints.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si—0.15
Fe—0.15
Cu4.25.0
Mn—0.1
Mg0.20.35
Zn—0.07
Ti0.150.25

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.75kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus65–72GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2310⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.3W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity17–23MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity29.5–39.5%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.3–1.5%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range540–650°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in the cast structure

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
T4 heat treatmentSolution heat treatment 520–530 °C for 8–16 h; quench water 20–80 °C; natural ageing 15–30 °C for 120 h (supplier guidance; casting wall thickness not given here).

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness90–115 HBWSand casting; T4; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaSand casting; T4; supplier performance range; fatigue cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
ultimate tensile strength≥ 240 MPaSand casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
elongation≥ 3 %Sand casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness≥ 85 HBWSand casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness95–125 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; fatigue cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 220 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
ultimate tensile strength≥ 280 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
elongation≥ 1 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness95–115 HBWGravity die casting; T4; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance100–110 MPaGravity die casting; T4; supplier performance range; fatigue cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 200 MPaGravity die casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
ultimate tensile strength≥ 280 MPaGravity die casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
elongation≥ 5 %Gravity die casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWGravity die casting; T4; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)

Evidence

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Alufont-47 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page