alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Alufont-60

Alufont-60 / AlCu5NiCoSbZr (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
T7Not specified145–165180–2201–1.5
ONot specified160–180180–2001–1.5

T7 condition: Original-supplier in-house performance interval; no wall thickness is stated for the range. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima at wall ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75). Test temperature and specimen count are not supplied in this summary row.

O condition: Original-supplier in-house performance interval; no wall thickness is stated for the range. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima at wall ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75). Test temperature and specimen count are not supplied in this summary row.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

The 2016 original-supplier handbook pp. 76–77 gives ingot composition in mass %. The seven direct columns and separate Ni/Co labelled entries in the stacked “other” cell are reviewed. The same cell prints a shared Zr & Sb interval without stating whether that range applies individually or jointly; no numerical Zr or Sb limit is published. Single values are upper maxima (p. 76). The grade has no printed numerical EN/AA designation. P. 79 supplier performance ranges have no stated wall thickness; bracketed values are distinct casting minima at wall ≤20 mm (p. 75). Its fatigue summary lacks cycle count and stress ratio. The p. 81 gravity-shrinkage cell is blank and not filled.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si—0.2
Fe—0.3
Cu4.55.2
Mn0.10.3
Mg—0.1
Zn—0.1
Ti0.150.3
Ni1.31.7
Co0.10.4

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.84kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus72–76GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion22.510⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.2W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity17–21MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity29.5–36.0%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.3–1.5%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range545–650°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in the cast structure

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
T7 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 535–545 °C for 10–15 h; quench water 80 °C; age 210–220 °C for 12–16 h. Wall thickness not given.
O general heat treatmentGeneral annealing summary: 345–355 °C for 5–10 h; air cooling. No ageing step is specified in this row.
elevated temperature applicationThe supplier handbook lists Alufont-60 among higher-alloy materials described as thermally resistant; this paragraph gives no quantified Alufont-60 creep limit.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness85–95 HBWSand casting; T7; supplier summary range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance90–100 MPaSand casting; T7; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
elongation≥ 1 %Sand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness≥ 85 HBWSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness80–90 HBWSand casting; O; supplier summary range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance90–100 MPaSand casting; O; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 160 MPaSand casting; O; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; O; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
elongation≥ 1 %Sand casting; O; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWSand casting; O; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm (handbook p. 75)

Source entries awaiting clarification

Zr And Sb Composition: The original-supplier p. 77 other column gives one shared Zr & Sb interval. It does not explicitly say whether this is a combined total, a common individual interval, or another rule. Neither individual Zr nor Sb numerical bounds are assigned pending issuer clarification.

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Alufont-60 ↗ — PDF p. 77, Alufont-60 stacked other column, Zr & Sb shared entry

Evidence

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Alufont-60 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page