alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Anticorodal-70

Anticorodal-70 / AlSi7Mg0.3 / EN 42100 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified80–140140–2202–6
T64 · Sand castingNot specified120–170200–2704–10
F · Gravity die castingNot specified90–150180–2404–9
T64 · Gravity die castingNot specified180–200250–2708–12
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified220–280290–3405–9

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for the main range; parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T64 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for the main range; parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for the main range; parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T64 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for the main range; parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for the main range; parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier 2016 handbook p. 22 names the branded grade AlSi7Mg0.3 / EN 42100. Its p. 22 detailed and pp. 76–81 summary tables are one issuer and one document. Mn has contradictory limits between the detailed and summary chemistry rows. Sand/T6 yield performance lower limits also conflict, so that complete mechanical condition is withheld. Matching UTS, elongation, hardness and wall-qualified casting minima are separate observations. Main mechanical ranges have no reported wall thickness. Bracketed values apply to castings at wall ≤20 mm (p. 75). Fatigue protocol is absent. Other-column Na/Sr indicates modification options, not quantified composition limits. No variant equivalence to Anticorodal-78dv is inferred.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si6.57.5
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mg0.30.45
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.18

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.66kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus69–75GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2210⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.6W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity21–27MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity36.0–46.5%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.1–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range550–625°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.66g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range550–625°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated
eutectic temperature573.0°CManufacturer AlSi casting-alloy eutectic table; modification state and measurement method not reported

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
rapid meltingMelt promptly in powerful furnaces; replenish preheated ingots and returns in small volumes to limit magnesium loss, gas absorption, oxidation, segregation and entrapped oxides.
salt treatmentSupplier says salt treatment is not needed when melting Anticorodal-70.
magnesium melting lossNormally about 0.05 mass % magnesium melting loss per fusion; this is processing guidance, not an ingot specification.
magnesium correction thresholdFor an Anticorodal-70/-70dv melt with Mg below 0.25 mass %, supplier recommends correction using AlMg master/casting alloy or pure Mg.
post melting skimmingSkim after melting down.
post melting temperature limitAfter melting down, supplier maximum is 780 °C with temperature checking.
rotor degassingFast rotor refining: argon or nitrogen 7–10 L/min for 6–10 min.
nitrogen tablet refiningAlternative flushing tablet: 150–350 L nitrogen per kg tablet using a bell plunger.
granular grain refinementFor granular Anticorodal-70 after skimming: TiB master alloy or tableted flux to nucleation state KF ≥9, corresponding to grain area <2.5 mm².
strontium remodificationFor permanently modified ingots, remodify only after Sr falls below 0.015 mass %; supplier prefers AlSr master alloy containing 5% Sr.
sand sodium modificationSand-casting Na modification alternatives as mass % of charge: 0.03–0.04 vacuum-packed Na, 0.2–0.3 exothermic tablets, or 0.05–0.2 salt granulate. These are alternatives, not simultaneous additions.
thick gravity sodium modificationFor thick-walled gravity die castings or gravity dies with sand cores, Na modification alternatives as mass % of charge: 0.015–0.025 vacuum-packed Na, 0.1–0.2 exothermic tablets, or 0.05–0.2 salt granulate. No numeric wall threshold is stated.
integrated rotor refiningSupplier prefers gas treatment with a rotor, including integrated melt processing while adding sodium-salt granulate.
unmodified pouring temperatureApproximate pouring temperature 720–760 °C for the unmodified route; depends on design, casting size and wall thickness.
permanently modified pouring temperatureApproximate pouring temperature 740–780 °C for the permanently modified route; depends on design, casting size and wall thickness.
gravity die temperatureGravity die temperature 300–400 °C depending on the casting.
standard solution treatmentProcess-sheet standard solution treatment 520–535 °C for 6–10 h, excluding heat-up time.
special component solution treatmentProcess-sheet special-component alternative solution treatment 535–545 °C for 24 h, excluding heat-up time; not assigned to all components.
solution quenchAfter process-sheet solution treatment, quench in 10–40 °C water without delay where possible.
ageing delay if trimmingOnly when trimming is needed, delay before artificial ageing is at most 12 h.
partial ageing t64Process-sheet T64 partial ageing 150–160 °C for 2–3 h for high elongation.
full ageing t6Process-sheet T6 full artificial ageing 155–165 °C for 6–8 h for high strength.
stabilisation thermal loadingFor castings with thermal loading, stabilisation anneal at 210–230 °C for 6–8 h, then air-cool to room temperature.
T6 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 520–545 °C for 4–10 h; water quench at 20 °C; age 155–165 °C for 6–8 h. This is separate from the p. 67 standard/special component process-sheet guidance.
T64 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 520–545 °C for 4–10 h; water quench at 20 °C; age 150–160 °C for 2–3 h. This is separate from the p. 67 process-sheet guidance.
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier calls the grade highly corrosion-resistant, weldable and machinable; no standardized corrosion rating, welding test or cutting condition is stated in this paragraph.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness45–60 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness60–80 HBWSand casting; T64; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 120 MPaSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 4 %Sand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness55–70 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 90 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 50 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness80–95 HBWGravity die casting; T64; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 140 MPaGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 220 MPaGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 5 %Gravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness90–125 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 200 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 250 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3.5 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength240–320 MPaSand casting; T6; matching supplier rows; yield performance range internally disputed; wall thickness not reported
elongation3–6 %Sand casting; T6; matching supplier rows; yield performance range internally disputed; wall thickness not reported
brinell hardness80–110 HBWSand casting; T6; matching supplier rows; yield performance range internally disputed; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T6; matching supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm; performance yield range internally disputed
ultimate tensile strength≥ 240 MPaSand casting; T6; matching supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm; performance yield range internally disputed
elongation≥ 2.5 %Sand casting; T6; matching supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm; performance yield range internally disputed
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWSand casting; T6; matching supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm; performance yield range internally disputed
fatigue resistance90–100 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported; mechanical yield range internally disputed
ultimate tensile strength150 MPaSand casting; granular, unmodified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
elongation5 %Sand casting; granular, unmodified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
ultimate tensile strength180 MPaGravity die casting; granular, unmodified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
elongation6 %Gravity die casting; granular, unmodified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
ultimate tensile strength210 MPaSand casting; strontium-modified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
elongation12 %Sand casting; strontium-modified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
ultimate tensile strength240 MPaGravity die casting; strontium-modified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated
elongation13 %Gravity die casting; strontium-modified; supplier modification comparison table; temper, wall and cooling time not stated

Data under review

Mn Composition withheld: The original-supplier 2016 handbook p. 22 detailed Anticorodal-70 chemistry has Mn maximum 0.05 mass %, while its pp. 76–77 summary has 0.10 mass %. Neither limit is selected until the issuer resolves this internal discrepancy.

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-70 ↗ — PDF p. 22, Anticorodal-70 detailed chemistry, Mn column

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-70 ↗ — PDF p. 77, Anticorodal-70 summary chemistry continuation, Mn column

Mechanical conditions under review

anticorodal-70-sand-t6-yts withheld: The original supplier handbook p. 22 gives sand/T6 yield 200–280 MPa, while its p. 78 summary gives 220–280 MPa. The current product page repeats the p. 22 row but is the same issuer. No complete sand/T6 mechanical condition or chart region is published until the issuer resolves the discrepancy.

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-70 ↗ — PDF p. 22, Anticorodal-70 sand T6 yield range

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-70 ↗ — PDF p. 78, Anticorodal-70 sand T6 yield range

Evidence

Anticorodal-70 technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-70 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page