alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Anticorodal-78dv

Anticorodal-78dv / AlSi7Mg0.3 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand casting mechanical data; sand and gravity die shrinkage tabulated

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
FNot specified80–140140–2202–6
T64Not specified120–170200–2704–10
T6Not specified200–280240–3203–6

F condition: Original-supplier branded -78dv performance interval. No wall thickness stated for main range; separately reported bracketed casting minimum applies at wall ≤20 mm. P. 78 has no -78dv mechanical summary row.

T64 condition: Original-supplier branded -78dv performance interval. No wall thickness stated for main range; separately reported bracketed casting minimum applies at wall ≤20 mm. P. 78 has no -78dv mechanical summary row.

T6 condition: Original-supplier branded -78dv performance interval. No wall thickness stated for main range; separately reported bracketed casting minimum applies at wall ≤20 mm. P. 78 has no -78dv mechanical summary row.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier branded Anticorodal-78dv, permanently Sr-modified in the source; no numeric Sr content is stated. Do not merge it with Anticorodal-70 merely because both use AlSi7Mg0.3/42 100 and some performance ranges match. Only p. 24 supplies -78dv mechanical rows; the common p. 78 summary has no separately named -78dv row. Main ranges have no wall thickness; p. 75 scopes parenthetical casting minima to walls ≤20 mm. The p. 81 gravity-shrinkage property does not create a gravity mechanical condition. REACH ingredient disclosure is not ingot composition.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si6.57.5
Fe—0.12
Cu—0.02
Mn—0.05
Mg0.30.45
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.18

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.66kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus69–75GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2210⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.6W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity21–27MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity36.0–46.5%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.1–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range550–625°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.66g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range550–625°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
T6 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 520–545 °C for 4–20 h; water quench at 20 °C; age 145–160 °C for 2–15 h. The handbook gives no -78dv-specific T64 cycle.
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier describes a permanently modified alloy especially for sand casting with very good mechanical properties, outstanding corrosion resistance, very good weldability and very good machining. The composition table marks Sr without a numerical limit.
supplier casting exampleThe supplier illustrates a permanently modified, artificially aged sand-cast compressor wheel. Its illustrated dimensions are an application example, not specimen size or a condition attached to the performance table.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness45–60 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness60–80 HBWSand casting; T64; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 120 MPaSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 4 %Sand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWSand casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness80–110 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 240 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2.5 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Evidence

Anticorodal-78dv technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-78dv — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page