alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Castaman-35

Castaman-35 / AlSi10MnMg (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | High-pressure die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
T7Not specified110–150190–2308–13

T7 condition: 2018 original-supplier foldout, HPDC T7 performance interval. The source says die-cast values were determined on separately cast plates/bars; wall thickness, heat-treatment recipe and test temperature are not reported. This row is not T6.

Brinell hardness, T7 condition: 60–75 HBW

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

The 2015, 2016 and 2018 original-supplier editions agree on seven named ingot-element limits. The other column says Sr without a numeric bound. The 2015/current T6 strength intervals differ from the 2016 handbook and are withheld. The 2016 F UTS upper number is printed as 2720 MPa; it is not silently corrected to the 2016 feature-sheet 270 MPa. The 2018 T7 row is a distinct treatment state. Materials named Castaman-35R in older summary/REACH sheets are not treated as identical to Castaman-35 without issuer proof.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si9.511.0
Fe—0.2
Cu—0.03
Mn0.50.8
Mg0.20.5
Zn—0.1
Ti—0.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.64kg/dm³2016 supplier physical table; approximate density, measurement temperature not reported
youngs modulus74–83GPa2016 supplier physical table; measurement temperature not reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/K2016 supplier physical table; coefficient for 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.4W/(K·cm)2016 supplier physical table; interval 20–200 °C
linear shrinkage0.4–0.6%HPDC original-supplier processing comparison; casting geometry and measurement protocol not reported

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
t6 heat treatment guidance2016 supplier processing table: T6 solution heat treatment 480–490 °C for 2–5 h; quenching-water column reads 20 °C/Air; ageing 155–170 °C for 2–6 h. This is processing guidance, not an explanation of the disputed mechanical intervals.
sticking tendency comparison2015/2016 supplier comparison reports low sticking tendency for Castaman-35; this is qualitative.
die life relative comparison2015/2016 supplier comparison lists Castaman-35 die life as 100% alongside the comparison alloys; this is a relative comparison, not an absolute tooling lifetime.
minimum pourable wall guidance2016 original-supplier feature sheet says pourable castings from 1.5 mm wall thickness; this is process guidance, not the wall thickness of the mechanical test bars.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
yield strength120–150 MPaHPDC; temper F; supplier performance interval; wall/specimen size not reported
elongation4–9 %HPDC; temper F; supplier performance interval; wall/specimen size not reported
brinell hardness75–90 HBWHPDC; temper F; supplier performance interval; wall/specimen size not reported
elongation6–12 %HPDC; temper T6; supplier performance interval; wall/specimen size not reported
brinell hardness80–110 HBWHPDC; temper T6; supplier performance interval; wall/specimen size not reported
yield strength260 MPa2015/2016 handbook example; 3 mm Castaman-35; two-step heat treatment including solutionizing; specimen/test temperature not reported
elongation8 %2015/2016 handbook example; 3 mm Castaman-35; two-step heat treatment including solutionizing; specimen/test temperature not reported
yield strength178 MPa2015/2016 handbook illustrative T6 stress–elongation figure; wall, specimen and test temperature not reported; plotted curve not digitized
ultimate tensile strength254 MPa2015/2016 handbook illustrative T6 stress–elongation figure; wall, specimen and test temperature not reported; plotted curve not digitized
elongation8.5 %2015/2016 handbook illustrative T6 stress–elongation figure; wall, specimen and test temperature not reported; plotted curve not digitized

Data under review

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: The 2016 handbook actually prints 200–2720 MPa, whereas the original supplier feature sheet prints 200–270 MPa. No automatic typo correction or complete F condition is published.

Castaman-35 original-supplier 2016 document ↗ — PDF p. 44, Castaman-35 ultimate_tensile_strength conflicting row

Castaman-35 original-supplier feature document ↗ — PDF p. 1, Castaman-35 ultimate_tensile_strength conflicting row

Yield Strength withheld: Original-developer 2015 and 2016 T6 performance intervals differ. The current webpage and 2016 feature sheet match the older row, without an explicit correction notice for the 2016 handbook.

Primary Aluminium Alloys for Pressure Die Casting ↗ — PDF p. 42, Castaman-35 yield_strength conflicting row

Castaman-35 original-supplier 2016 document ↗ — PDF p. 44, Castaman-35 yield_strength conflicting row

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: Original-developer 2015 and 2016 T6 performance intervals differ. The current webpage and 2016 feature sheet match the older row, without an explicit correction notice for the 2016 handbook.

Primary Aluminium Alloys for Pressure Die Casting ↗ — PDF p. 42, Castaman-35 ultimate_tensile_strength conflicting row

Castaman-35 original-supplier 2016 document ↗ — PDF p. 44, Castaman-35 ultimate_tensile_strength conflicting row

Evidence

Primary Aluminium Alloys for Pressure Die Casting — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS

Aluminium Casting Alloys, 2018 foldout — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS

Castaman-35 original-supplier 2016 document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Castaman-35 original-supplier feature document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Castaman-35 original-supplier primary document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page