alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Castasil-21

Castasil-21 / AlSi9Sr (2015) / AlSi9SrE (2018) (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | High-pressure die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

No complete reviewed mechanical condition. Separately reviewed property observations appear below.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si8.09.0
Fe0.50.7
Cu—0.02
Mn—0.01
Mg—0.03
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.01
Sr0.010.03

The supplier calls this branded grade AlSi9Sr in the 2015 handbook and AlSi9SrE in the 2018 handbook; these labels are not asserted to be generic equivalents. Their eight named ingot-element limits agree, but F/O mechanical ranges and physical density/expansion/thermal conductivity do not. Complete mechanical conditions and disputed physical values are withheld. The original-developer documents and the REACH Article 32 sheet are one issuer, not three independent authorities. The latter contains broad ingredient disclosure, not ingot limits. Older temperature-qualified and newer temperature-unspecified observations remain distinct; no averages or specimen conditions are invented.

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
youngs modulus62–78GPa2015 handbook edition; 20 °C
solidification range550–595°C2015 handbook edition; solidification, source prints cooling order 595–550 °C
melting range550–595°C2015 REACH Article 32 sheet; melting interval, heating direction not specified
electrical conductivity23–25MS/m2015 handbook edition; temper F; 20 °C
linear shrinkage0.4–0.6%HPDC; 2015 processing comparison and 2018 supplier physical table; casting geometry not specified
electrical conductivity25–28MS/mTemper O; 2015 handbook at 20 °C and 2018 handbook without a stated test temperature
electrical conductivity43.0–48.5%IACS2018 structural-casts edition; temper O in the key-figures caption; test temperature not reported

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
heat treatment conductivity2018 supplier: either 350 °C for 2 h or 250 °C for 3 h gives around 28 MS/m; slowly air cool after stress relief. The source does not give a complete specimen protocol.
strontium modification guidance2018 supplier handling guidance: Sr 100–350 ppm for modification; this is process guidance, not an additional ingot composition limit.
processing temperature2018 supplier describes 680–750 °C processing temperature for the 8–9% Si composition; not a test temperature for the mechanical rows.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
ultimate tensile strength200–230 MPaHPDC; temper F; both supplier editions agree on this cell; wall and specimen size not reported
elongation6–9 %HPDC; temper F; both supplier editions agree on this cell; wall and specimen size not reported
brinell hardness55–70 HBW2018 structural-casts handbook edition; HPDC; temper F; wall/test protocol not reported
brinell hardness55–65 HBW2018 structural-casts handbook edition; HPDC; temper O; wall/test protocol not reported

Data under review

Yield Strength withheld: The 2015 and 2018 supplier F YTS intervals differ; the current webpage matches the older row. Neither interval is selected as a complete condition.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 yield_strength edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 yield_strength edition comparison

Yield Strength withheld: The 2015 and 2018 supplier O YTS intervals differ; the current webpage matches the older row. Neither interval is selected as a complete condition.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 yield_strength edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 yield_strength edition comparison

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: The 2015 and 2018 supplier O UTS intervals differ; the current webpage matches the older row. Neither interval is selected as a complete condition.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 ultimate_tensile_strength edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 ultimate_tensile_strength edition comparison

Elongation withheld: The 2015 and 2018 supplier O Elongation intervals differ; the current webpage matches the older row. Neither interval is selected as a complete condition.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 elongation edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 elongation edition comparison

Density withheld: The supplier editions give different density numbers, with different or unstated temperature conditions. Do not average or select one for an unqualified grade-level property.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 density edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 density edition comparison

Thermal Expansion withheld: The supplier editions give different thermal_expansion numbers, with different or unstated temperature conditions. Do not average or select one for an unqualified grade-level property.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 thermal_expansion edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 thermal_expansion edition comparison

Thermal Conductivity withheld: The supplier editions give different thermal_conductivity numbers, with different or unstated temperature conditions. Do not average or select one for an unqualified grade-level property.

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document ↗ — PDF p. 24, Castasil-21 thermal_conductivity edition comparison

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document ↗ — PDF p. 17, Castasil-21 thermal_conductivity edition comparison

Evidence

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2015 document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Castasil-21 original-supplier 2018 document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Castasil-21 original-supplier reach document — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page