Magsimal-plus
Magsimal-plus / AlMg6Si2MnZr (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | High-pressure die casting
Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗
| Temper | Wall | Yield MPa | Tensile MPa | Elong. % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| F | 3 mm | 200–220 | 340–360 | 9–12 |
| T5 | 3 mm | 230–250 | 350–380 | 8–12 |
F condition: Original-developer F mechanical range for 3 mm wall thickness. The three marginal property intervals are not paired specimen coordinates or their midpoint. The source does not specify test temperature or a specimen count for this summary row; do not infer a day-20 F age or a particular T5 cycle.
T5 condition: Original-developer T5 mechanical range for 3 mm wall thickness. The three marginal property intervals are not paired specimen coordinates or their midpoint. The source does not specify test temperature or a specimen count for this summary row; do not infer a day-20 F age or a particular T5 cycle.
Chemical composition
Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.
The 2018 original-developer handbook p. 23 gives ingot composition in mass %. “Mo; Be” are named under others without numeric limits and are not assigned percentages. The same page gives F and T5 mechanical ranges for 3 mm walls but does not state the exact age of every F specimen or the T5 cycle. Physical-data test temperature and temper are not specified.
| Element / source label | Minimum wt% | Upper wt% |
|---|---|---|
| Si | 2.1 | 2.6 |
| Fe | — | 0.15 |
| Cu | — | 0.05 |
| Mn | 0.5 | 0.8 |
| Mg | 6.0 | 6.4 |
| Zn | — | 0.07 |
| Ti | — | 0.05 |
| Zr | 0.1 | 0.3 |
Physical and thermal properties
| Property | Reported value | Unit | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| density | 2.66 | kg/dm³ | manufacturer physical-data table; temperature and temper not separately reported |
| thermal expansion | 24 | 10⁻⁶/K | manufacturer physical-data table; temperature interval not stated |
| thermal conductivity | 1.1 | W/(K·cm) | manufacturer physical-data table; test temperature and temper not stated |
| electrical conductivity | 24.0–27.5 | %IACS | manufacturer physical-data table; temperature and temper not separately reported |
| linear shrinkage | 0.6–1.1 | % | manufacturer physical-data table for HPDC; measurement condition not separately reported |
Processing properties
Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.
| Property | Reported value |
|---|---|
| cooling sensitivity | Properties depend on wall thickness and cooling method after HPDC. |
| stress corrosion resistance | Very high resistance to stress corrosion cracking, as reported by the original developer. |
Evidence
Show the exact source location for each value
- magsimal-plus-f-hpdc-3mm — PDF p. 23, Magsimal-plus mechanical table, F, 3 mm wall row ↗
- magsimal-plus-t5-hpdc-3mm — PDF p. 23, Magsimal-plus mechanical table, T5, 3 mm wall row ↗
- Si — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Si min./max. column ↗
- Fe — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Fe min./max. column ↗
- Cu — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Cu min./max. column ↗
- Mn — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Mn min./max. column ↗
- Mg — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Mg min./max. column ↗
- Zn — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Zn min./max. column ↗
- Ti — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Ti min./max. column ↗
- Zr — PDF p. 23, ingot composition table, Zr min./max. column ↗
- density — PDF p. 23, physical-data table, Magsimal-plus density column ↗
- thermal expansion — PDF p. 23, physical-data table, Magsimal-plus thermal_expansion column ↗
- thermal conductivity — PDF p. 23, physical-data table, Magsimal-plus thermal_conductivity column ↗
- electrical conductivity — PDF p. 23, physical-data table, Magsimal-plus electrical_conductivity column ↗
- linear shrinkage — PDF p. 23, physical-data table, Magsimal-plus linear_shrinkage column ↗
- cooling sensitivity — PDF p. 22, Magsimal-plus cooling and wall paragraph ↗
- stress corrosion resistance — PDF p. 23, Magsimal-plus key figures, stress corrosion ↗