alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Peraluman-50

Peraluman-50 / AlMg5 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified100–120190–25010–15
F · Gravity die castingNot specified100–140200–26010–25

F condition: Original-supplier as-cast performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). The main range has no stated wall thickness; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate.

F condition: Original-supplier as-cast performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). The main range has no stated wall thickness; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier Peraluman-50 / AlMg5, EN 51 300. The detailed p. 51, handbook summary, product page and REACH technical sheet are one issuer. Do not generalize these ranges to every AlMg5 product. Main mechanical ranges do not state a wall thickness; p. 75 limits bracketed casting minima to walls up to 20 mm. Be is printed as an unbounded other constituent, not a quantified specification limit. REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot composition limits. Fatigue intervals lack cycle count and stress ratio.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si—0.3
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn0.010.4
Mg4.85.5
Zn—0.1
Ti0.010.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.63kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus63–73GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2410⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.2W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity15–21MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity26.0–36.0%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.4%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range545–645°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.63g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range545–645°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier describes excellent chemical resistance particularly to salt water, suitability for decorative anodic oxidation, sheen after mechanical polishing, and good elongation and impact toughness. No standardized corrosion or impact test rating is stated.
supplier casting examplesThe handbook illustrates two sand-cast applications: a cooling half-shell for X-ray devices and an anodically oxidised autopilot input housing. Their dimensions describe products, not test specimens or wall qualifications for the performance ranges.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness55–70 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 90 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 170 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 8 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 50 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance60–80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness60–75 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 100 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 8 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–80 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Evidence

Peraluman-50 technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Peraluman-50 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page