alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Peraluman-56

Peraluman-56 / AlMg5Si (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified110–130160–2003–4
T6 · Sand castingNot specified110–160180–2203–4
F · Gravity die castingNot specified110–150180–2403–5
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified110–160210–2603–18

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier Peraluman-56 / AlMg5Si, EN 51 400. The detailed p. 52, handbook summary, product page and REACH technical sheet are one issuer. Do not generalize these ranges to every AlMg5Si product. Main mechanical ranges do not state a wall thickness; p. 75 limits bracketed casting minima to walls up to 20 mm. Be is printed as an unbounded other constituent, not a quantified specification limit. REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot composition limits. Fatigue intervals lack cycle count and stress ratio. No grade-specific T6 heat-treatment cycle is printed in the general p. 101 table.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si0.91.3
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn0.010.4
Mg4.85.5
Zn—0.1
Ti0.010.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.63kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus68–75GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2410⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.1W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity14–21MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity24.0–36.0%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.4%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range545–645°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.63g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range545–645°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier describes a heat-treatable alloy with high elongation, outstanding corrosion resistance, sheen after mechanical polishing and excellent machinability. No standardized corrosion or machinability rating is stated.
supplier casting examplesThe handbook illustrates two sand-cast applications, a pump housing and a centrifugal-pump stator. Their dimensions describe products, not mechanical test specimens or wall qualifications.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness60–80 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 100 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance60–80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness70–80 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 110 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 160 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 65 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–90 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness65–85 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 100 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 150 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 60 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–80 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness75–85 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 110 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 200 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 5 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 70 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–90 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Evidence

Peraluman-56 technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Peraluman-56 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page