alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-13

Silafont-13 / AlSi11 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified70–120150–2107–13
O · Sand castingNot specified60–120150–2109–15
F · Gravity die castingNot specified80–150170–2407–16
O · Gravity die castingNot specified60–120180–24010–18

F condition: RHEINFELDEN in-house performance ranges for Sand casting; test pieces were separately cast or taken from castings (PDF p. 75). The ranges have no reported wall thickness. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima for wall ≤20 mm; the sand-cast O yield minimum conflicts between PDF pp. 34 and 78.

O condition: RHEINFELDEN in-house performance ranges for Sand casting; test pieces were separately cast or taken from castings (PDF p. 75). The ranges have no reported wall thickness. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima for wall ≤20 mm; the sand-cast O yield minimum conflicts between PDF pp. 34 and 78.

F condition: RHEINFELDEN in-house performance ranges for Gravity die casting; test pieces were separately cast or taken from castings (PDF p. 75). The ranges have no reported wall thickness. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima for wall ≤20 mm; the sand-cast O yield minimum conflicts between PDF pp. 34 and 78.

O condition: RHEINFELDEN in-house performance ranges for Gravity die casting; test pieces were separately cast or taken from castings (PDF p. 75). The ranges have no reported wall thickness. Parenthetical values are separate casting minima for wall ≤20 mm; the sand-cast O yield minimum conflicts between PDF pp. 34 and 78.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

The 2016 handbook reports composition in percent of mass. Single element values are upper maxima (PDF p. 76). The numerical designation 44 000 applies only if Si is below 11.8%; it is not an unconditional synonym for this 10.0–13.5% Si grade. (Na/Sr) is a modification option, not an element-percent limit.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si10.013.5
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn—0.05
Mg—0.05
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.64kg/dm³manufacturer approximate value; temperature and temper not separately reported
young modulus65–81GPamanufacturer physical-property range; temperature and temper not separately reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/Kmanufacturer linear CTE over 20–200 °C; temper not separately reported
thermal conductivity1.4W/(K·cm)manufacturer thermal table over 20–200 °C; temper not separately reported
electrical conductivity17–27MS/mmanufacturer physical table; test temperature and temper not separately reported
electrical conductivity29.5–46.5%IACSmanufacturer physical table; same row as 17–27 MS/m; test temperature and temper not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.1%sand casting; manufacturer physical table; test conditions not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.0%gravity die casting; manufacturer physical table; test conditions not separately reported
solidification range565–585°Cmanufacturer melt and solidification range; includes possible partial melting from cast segregation, not an equilibrium melting point

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
castabilityOutstanding castability
corrosion resistancevery good corrosion resistance
weldabilityoutstanding weldability
polishabilityGood sheen after mechanical polishing

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
yield strength≥ 70 MPaSand casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 150 MPaSand casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 6 %Sand casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 150 MPaSand casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 8 %Sand casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
yield strength≥ 80 MPaGravity die casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 160 MPaGravity die casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 6 %Gravity die casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWGravity die casting; temper F; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
yield strength≥ 60 MPaGravity die casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 160 MPaGravity die casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 10 %Gravity die casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWGravity die casting; temper O; minimum in casting with wall thickness ≤20 mm

Data under review

Yield Strength withheld: The original developer handbook prints the sand-cast O parenthetical yield minimum as 70 MPa on PDF p. 34 but 60 MPa on PDF p. 78. The parenthetical values are casting minima at wall thickness ≤20 mm (PDF p. 75). Neither minimum is selected pending issuer clarification; the separate specimen performance range 60–120 MPa agrees.

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Silafont-13 ↗ — PDF p. 34, Silafont-13 Sand casting O bracketed yield minimum

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Silafont-13 ↗ — PDF p. 78, Silafont-13 S O bracketed yield minimum

Evidence

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Silafont-13 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-13 / AlSi11 technical information, version 2, 2015 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page