alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-20

Silafont-20 / AlSi11Mg / 44 000 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified80–140170–2202–4
T6 · Sand castingNot specified120–300200–3201–3
F · Gravity die castingNot specified80–130180–2303–16
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified125–320210–3504–15

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Supplier-branded Silafont-20 / AlSi11Mg, not every generic AlSi11Mg casting and not the separately named Silafont-20 dv. The 2015 overview, 2016 handbook, technical PDF and current product page are one issuer, not independent votes. Main F/T6 performance rows do not specify wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature or exact treatment of each specimen. Parenthetical casting minima apply only to walls ≤20 mm. Fatigue intervals lack cycle count and stress ratio. The handbook physical summary density 2.64 kg/dm³ and technical PDF 20 °C density 2.65 g/cm³ differ after unit normalization; both are withheld. REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot composition limits.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si10.011.8
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn—0.05
Mg0.10.45
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
youngs modulus76–83GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.4W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity18–26MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; MS/m; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity31–45%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; %IACS; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.0%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range565–585°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
melting range565–585°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
corrosion resistanceSupplier describes outstanding corrosion resistance to weathering and water; qualitative, no test protocol or numeric rate.
weldabilitySupplier describes outstanding weldability; no procedure or numeric acceptance criterion.
machinability after ageingSupplier describes good machinability after ageing; no machining protocol or measured value.
t6 heat treatmentSupplier general table: solution 520–535 °C for 6–10 h, quench water 20 °C, age 130–170 °C for 6–8 h. General guidance, not confirmed specimen treatment for every T6 range.
t5 heat treatmentSupplier general table separately lists T5 with air quench and 210–230 °C ageing for 5–8 h; no corresponding T5 mechanical condition is published for this grade.
microstructure conductivity figureHandbook p. 85 Figure 5 compares Silafont-20 as-cast electrical conductivity across lamellar, granular, Sr-modified and Na-modified microstructures. Curves have not been digitized into numerical claims.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness50–60 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance65–75 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 70 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 170 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 1.5 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 50 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness65–120 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance90–120 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 110 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.5 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness55–75 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 80 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 55 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness70–125 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance100–120 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 120 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 210 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 70 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Data under review

Density withheld: Original-supplier 2016 physical summary p. 80 and 2015 overview p. 5 give approximate 2.64 kg/dm³; its 2015 version 2 REACH technical PDF p. 4 gives 2.65 g/cm³ at 20 °C. These units are numerically equivalent after conversion but the values differ by 0.01. Temperature/measurement/revision applicability is unresolved; neither density is published.

Silafont-20 original-supplier summary (2016) ↗ — PDF p. 80, Silafont-20 physical summary density column

Silafont-20 original-supplier tdb (2015) ↗ — PDF p. 4, Silafont-20 REACH density at 20 °C

Evidence

Silafont-20 original-supplier detail (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-20 original-supplier overview (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-20 original-supplier summary (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-20 original-supplier tdb (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page