alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-30

Silafont-30 / AlSi9Mg / 43 300 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified80–140160–2202–6
T6 · Sand castingNot specified200–310250–3302–5
F · Gravity die castingNot specified90–150180–2402–9
T64 · Gravity die castingNot specified180–210250–2906–10
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified210–310290–3604–7

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T64 condition: Original-supplier T64 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Supplier-branded Silafont-30 / AlSi9Mg, not every generic AlSi9Mg casting and not the separately named Silafont-30 dv. The 2015 overview, 2016 handbook, technical PDF and current product page are one issuer, not independent votes. Main F/T6/T64 performance rows do not specify wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature or exact treatment of each specimen. Parenthetical casting minima apply only to walls ≤20 mm. Summary fatigue intervals lack cycle count and stress ratio. REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot composition limits.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si9.010.0
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn—0.05
Mg0.30.45
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.65kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; approximate density; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus74–83GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.5W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity21–26MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; MS/m; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity36–45%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; %IACS; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.0%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range550–600°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
melting range550–600°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated
density2.65g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
corrosion resistanceSupplier describes outstanding corrosion resistance; qualitative, no exposure protocol or numeric rate.
weldabilitySupplier describes excellent weldability; no procedure or numeric acceptance criterion.
machinabilitySupplier describes very good machinability; no machining protocol or measured value.
t6 heat treatmentSupplier general table: solution 520–535 °C for 6–10 h, quench water 20 °C, age 160–170 °C for 6–8 h. General guidance, not confirmed specimen treatment for every T6 range.
t5 heat treatmentSupplier general table separately lists T5 with air cooling and 210–230 °C ageing for 6–8 h; no corresponding T5 mechanical condition is published for this grade.
undigitized figure inventoryHandbook p. 84 gives Fe/fracture-toughness and Mg+Fe/strength-elongation figures; pp. 102–103 give ageing-temperature and hardness-spread figures; p. 107 gives a Smith fatigue diagram for a Silafont-30 T6 sand-cast 20 mm specimen. Curves have not been digitized or converted into design values. The separately named Silafont-30 dv figure on p. 102 is excluded.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness50–70 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance65–75 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 150 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 50 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness80–115 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 220 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 75 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness60–80 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 90 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 60 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness80–90 HBWGravity die casting; T64; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 140 MPaGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 220 MPaGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Gravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWGravity die casting; T64; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness90–120 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance90–110 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 190 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 240 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature
eutectic temperature574.0 °CSupplier p. 92 AlSi casting-alloy eutectic-temperature table; measurement method and modification condition not reported
figure specimen yield strength225 MPaSupplier Smith fatigue figure annotation; Silafont-30 T6 sand casting, 20 mm diameter, 50% fracture probability; figure specimen point, not a grade performance interval or fatigue-strength value
figure specimen tensile strength244 MPaSupplier Smith fatigue figure annotation; Silafont-30 T6 sand casting, 20 mm diameter, 50% fracture probability; figure specimen point, not a grade performance interval or fatigue-strength value

Evidence

Silafont-30 original-supplier detail (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-30 original-supplier overview (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-30 original-supplier summary (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-30 original-supplier tdb (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page