alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-70

Silafont-70 / AlSi12CuNiMg / 48 000 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified120–170130–1800.5–1.5
T6 · Sand castingNot specified200–300220–3000.3–1.0
T5 · Sand castingNot specified140–190160–1900.2–1.0
F · Gravity die castingNot specified190–260200–2701.0–2.5
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified320–390350–4000.5–2.0
T5 · Gravity die castingNot specified185–210200–2300.5–2.0

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T5 condition: Original-supplier T5 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T6 condition: Original-supplier T6 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T5 condition: Original-supplier T5 performance interval. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact specimen treatment are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Supplier-branded Silafont-70 / AlSi12CuNiMg / 48 000, not every generic AlSi12CuNiMg casting. The 2015 overview, 2016 handbook, safety data sheet and current product page are one issuer, not independent votes. Main F/T5/T6 performance ranges do not specify wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature or exact treatment of each specimen; the p. 83 high-temperature curve is not digitized. Parenthetical casting minima apply only to walls ≤20 mm. Detailed p. 36 gravity-die T6 hardness minimum 135 HBW conflicts with summary p. 78 and overview p. 2 minimum 130 HBW; neither minimum is published. The main hardness interval 135–160 HBW agrees. Summary fatigue ranges lack cycle count and stress ratio. Safety-sheet ingredient disclosures and component toxicology are not ingot composition limits or current alloy-specific hazard conclusions.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si11.013.5
Fe—0.15
Cu0.81.3
Mn—0.05
Mg0.91.3
Zn—0.1
Ti—0.1
Ni0.81.3

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.68kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; approximate density; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus77–83GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.2W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity16–22MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; MS/m; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity27.5–38.0%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; %IACS; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.0–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.7–1.0%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.4–0.6%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; high-pressure die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range545–600°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
melting range545–600°CManufacturer 2015 version 2 safety data sheet; modification state and measurement method not stated
density2.68g/cm³Manufacturer 2015 version 2 safety data sheet; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
elevated temperature behaviorSupplier qualitatively describes good mechanical properties at higher temperatures; the p. 83 curve is not digitized into numerical data.
machinabilitySupplier describes good machining characteristics; no cutting protocol or numeric acceptance criterion in the grade description.
corrosion resistanceSupplier describes reduced corrosion resistance; no exposure protocol or numeric corrosion rate.
wear slidingSupplier describes good running and sliding properties and wear resistance; no quantified tribology test.
t6 heat treatmentSupplier general table: solution 520–530 °C for 5–10 h, quench water 20–80 °C, age 165–185 °C for 5–8 h. Guidance, not the measured specimen history for every T6 range.
t5 heat treatmentSupplier general table: no solution step, air cooling, age 210–220 °C for 10–12 h. Guidance, not the measured specimen history for every T5 range.
temperature yield figureHandbook p. 83 plots 0.2% 24 h yield strength versus test temperature for several alloys; Silafont-70 is curve d, stabilised T5 gravity-die casting. Curve not digitized into tabular material values.
machining figureHandbook p. 114 Figure 3 compares cutting distance for Silafont-70 granular and permanently modified microstructures versus cutting speed. Curves are not digitized.
water solubilityManufacturer 2015 safety data sheet states water insoluble; this is not a corrosion-rate or compatibility test.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness80–90 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance75–85 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 110 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 120 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.5 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness130–160 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 190 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 200 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.3 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 130 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness80–90 HBWSand casting; T5; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 160 MPaSand casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.2 %Sand casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 80 HBWSand casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness90–105 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–90 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 190 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.5 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness135–160 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance100–110 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 280 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 300 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.5 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness90–110 HBWGravity die casting; T5; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 150 MPaGravity die casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 0.5 %Gravity die casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWGravity die casting; T5; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer 2015 safety data sheet; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Data under review

Brinell Hardness withheld: Original-supplier detailed handbook p. 36 and current product page report 135 HBW for the parenthetical gravity-die T6 casting minimum, while the same handbook mechanical summary p. 78 and 2015 overview p. 2 report 130 HBW. Neither minimum is selected pending issuer clarification. The separate performance range 135–160 HBW agrees.

Silafont-70 original-supplier detail (2016) ↗ — PDF p. 36, Silafont-70 Gravity die casting T6 bracketed hardness minimum

Silafont-70 original-supplier summary (2016) ↗ — PDF p. 78, Silafont-70 Gravity die casting T6 bracketed hardness minimum

Silafont-70 original-supplier overview (2015) ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-70 Gravity die casting T6 bracketed hardness minimum

Evidence

Silafont-70 original-supplier detail (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-70 original-supplier overview (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-70 original-supplier sds (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-70 original-supplier summary (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page