alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-90

Silafont-90 / AlSi17Cu4Mg (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Gravity and high-pressure die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Gravity die castingNot specified170–225180–2350.4–0.9
T5 · Gravity die castingNot specified160–225165–2300.4–0.8
T5 · High-pressure die castingNot specified220–265230–2950.5–1.0

F condition: Original-supplier F performance interval; specimen size, wall thickness and test temperature not separately reported.

T5 condition: Original-supplier T5 performance interval; specimen size, wall thickness and test temperature not separately reported.

T5 condition: Original-supplier T5 performance interval; specimen size, wall thickness and test temperature not separately reported.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier Silafont-90 in 2015 and 2016 official documents. Both are one publisher, not two independent references. The current Silafont product page omits this grade, so current availability is not asserted. Mechanical intervals are supplier performance ranges, not universal minima or EN 1706 requirements. Exact wall thickness, specimen size and test temperature are not provided for these rows. Parenthetical casting minima for walls up to 20 mm are withheld pending separate treatment. The overview selection graphic mentions T6 but supplies no condition-bound T6 numerical row; no T6 properties are inferred. Additional processing fields remain for separate review. The supplier physical table applies to heat-treatable alloys in a heat-treated state, but does not name a unique temper for Silafont-90.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si16.018.0
Fe—0.3
Cu4.05.0
Mn—0.15
Mg0.50.6
Zn—0.1
Ti—0.2

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.73kg/dm³manufacturer approximate value; heat-treatable alloys shown in heat-treated state; exact temper and test temperature not separately reported
young modulus77–83GPamanufacturer physical-property interval; heat-treatable alloys shown in heat-treated state; exact temper and test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion1810⁻⁶/Kmanufacturer linear thermal expansion over 20–200 °C; heat-treatable alloys shown in heat-treated state; exact temper not separately reported
thermal conductivity1.1W/(K·cm)manufacturer thermal conductivity over 20–200 °C; heat-treatable alloys shown in heat-treated state; exact temper not separately reported
electrical conductivity14–17MS/mmanufacturer physical table; heat-treatable alloys shown in heat-treated state; exact temper and test temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity24.0–29.5%IACSmanufacturer physical table; same Silafont-90 row as 14–17 MS/m; exact temper and test temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.6–0.8%sand casting; manufacturer physical table; exact temper and test conditions not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.4–0.6%gravity die casting; manufacturer physical table; exact temper and test conditions not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.3–0.5%high-pressure die casting; manufacturer physical table; exact temper and test conditions not separately reported
solidification range510–650°Cmanufacturer melt and solidification range; includes possible partial melting from cast segregation, not equilibrium solidus and liquidus

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness110–120 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
brinell hardness105–115 HBWGravity die casting; T5; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
brinell hardness110–120 HBWHigh-pressure die casting; T5; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported

Evidence

Silafont-90 original-supplier handbook (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-90 original-supplier overview (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official supplier document index