alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Unifont-90

Unifont-90 / AlZn10Si8Mg (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
T1 · Sand castingNot specified190–230220–2501–2
T1 · Gravity die castingNot specified220–250280–3201–4

T1 condition: Original-supplier T1 self-aged performance range. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact ageing duration are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T1 condition: Original-supplier T1 self-aged performance range. Wall thickness, specimen size, test temperature and exact ageing duration are not reported. Parenthetical casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Unifont-90 is a supplier-branded grade, not a generic AlZn10Si8Mg equivalence. Unifont-90 and -94 have distinct composition limits and casting routes despite the same chemical denomination. The 2015 overview, 2016 handbook, technical PDF and current product page are one issuer, not independent votes. The T1 mechanical rows do not give wall thickness, test temperature, specimen size or exact ageing duration. Parenthetical casting minima, where printed, apply only to walls up to 20 mm. Fatigue cycle count and stress ratio are not reported. REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot limits. The detailed 2016 Si interval 8.5–9.5% conflicts with the 2015 overview and 2016 summary at 8.5–9.3%; Si is withheld.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.03
Mn—0.1
Mg0.30.5
Zn9.010.0
Ti—0.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.85kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus74–80GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.2W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity16–20MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; MS/m; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity27.5–34.5%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; %IACS; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.1–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range550–650°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.85g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range550–650°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
copper impurity avoidanceSupplier says even 0.05 mass % Cu impurity in the melt should be avoided; process guidance, not a second ingot specification.
magnesium makeup thresholdSupplier recommends Mg compensation if total melt Mg falls below 0.25 mass %, using Mg master alloy or pure magnesium.
post melting temperature limitAfter melting, keep at or below 780 °C and check temperature.
rotor refiningQuick-running gas rotor: argon or nitrogen 7–10 L/min for 6–10 min.
sand pouring temperatureApproximate sand-casting pour 710–740 °C; depends on casting method, design, size and wall thickness.
gravity pouring temperatureApproximate gravity die-casting pour 720–750 °C; depends on casting method, design, size and wall thickness.
gravity die temperatureGravity die temperature 300–400 °C depending on casting.
expedited ageingOnly if the cast is used straight away, supplier recommends ageing at 100–120 °C for 10–16 h; not assigned to the published T1 test specimens.
temperature figure provenanceHandbook p. 83 plots Unifont-90 T1 24 h yield strength versus test temperature; curve values have not been digitized or assigned to the room-temperature performance row.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness90–100 HBWSand casting; T1; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance80–100 MPaSand casting; T1; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 170 MPaSand casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 1 %Sand casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 90 HBWSand casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness100–120 HBWGravity die casting; T1; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
fatigue resistance90–110 MPaGravity die casting; T1; supplier summary range; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
yield strength≥ 220 MPaGravity die casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 230 MPaGravity die casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 1 %Gravity die casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 95 HBWGravity die casting; T1; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature
eutectic temperature562.0 °CManufacturer technical chapter Table 2; modification state and measurement method not reported

Data under review

Composition Si withheld: The supplier detailed 2016 grade page p. 44 prints 8.5–9.5 mass % Si, while its 2016 summary p. 77 and 2015 overview p. 4 print 8.5–9.3 mass %. Applicability or revision is unstated; neither interval is published.

Unifont-90 original-supplier handbook (2016) ↗ — PDF p. 44, Unifont-90 detailed chemistry, Si column

Unifont-90 original-supplier overview (2015) ↗ — PDF p. 4, Unifont-90 2015 chemistry, Si column

Evidence

Unifont-90 original-supplier handbook (2016) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Unifont-90 original-supplier handbook-detail (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Unifont-90 original-supplier overview (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Unifont-90 original-supplier tdb (2015) — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page