alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Anticorodal-04

Anticorodal-04 / AlSi0.5Mg (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand, gravity die and high-pressure die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified60–10090–13015–20
T7 · Sand castingNot specified160–180190–2103–5
F · Gravity die castingNot specified80–120100–14018–22
T7 · Gravity die castingNot specified170–190200–2203–6
F · High-pressure die castingNot specified80–120100–1407–12

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval; no wall thickness stated for the main range. Bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T7 condition: Original-supplier performance interval; no wall thickness stated for the main range. Bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval; no wall thickness stated for the main range. Bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

T7 condition: Original-supplier performance interval; no wall thickness stated for the main range. Bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separately recorded.

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval; no wall thickness stated for the main range. HPDC values are test-piece measurements.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier branded grade, not a generic AlSi0.5Mg equivalence. Main performance ranges have no stated wall thickness; p. 75 restricts bracketed casting minima to sand/gravity castings with wall thickness ≤20 mm. HPDC ranges are measured on test pieces and have no bracketed minima. The 2015 and 2016 official editions disagree on HPDC linear shrinkage, so that claim is withheld. REACH ingredient disclosure is not an ingot specification.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si0.30.6
Fe—0.8
Cu—0.01
Mn—0.01
Mg0.30.6
Zn—0.07
Ti—0.01

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.67kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus66–73GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2310⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity2.0W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity29–31.5MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
electrical conductivity50.0–54.0%IACSSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.1–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.1%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range600–650°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.67g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range600–650°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
T6 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 520–530 °C for 6–8 h; water quench at 20 °C; age 180–190 °C for 6–8 h.
T7 general heat treatmentGeneral heat-treatment summary: solution 520–530 °C for 6–8 h; water quench at 20 °C; age 220–240 °C for 4–6 h.
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier describes best corrosion resistance, very good weldability, suitability for decorative anodising except for high-pressure die casting, and suitability for hard soldering. These are supplier descriptions, not normalized test ratings.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness35–40 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 50 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 10 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 35 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness70–75 HBWSand casting; T7; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 150 MPaSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Sand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 70 HBWSand casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness40–45 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 70 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 90 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 12 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 40 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness70–80 HBWGravity die casting; T7; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 150 MPaGravity die casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 190 MPaGravity die casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Gravity die casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 70 HBWGravity die casting; T7; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness40–45 HBWHigh-pressure die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Data under review

Linear Shrinkage withheld: Manufacturer 2015 overview reports 0.5–0.7%, while its 2016 handbook reports 0.5–1.0% for the same HPDC column. Revision or method is not explained; no value is published.

Aluminium Casting Alloys overview, 2015 — Anticorodal-04 ↗ — PDF p. 5, Anticorodal-04 physical-properties first row, HPDC linear shrinkage

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-04 ↗ — PDF p. 81, Anticorodal-04 aligned physical-properties row, HPDC linear shrinkage

Evidence

Anticorodal-04 technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Anticorodal-04 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page