alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Peraluman-30

Peraluman-30 / AlMg3 (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified70–100170–1904–8
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified140–160240–26015–20

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval, not casting minimum. The table does not state a wall thickness for this main range; bracketed values refer to casting minima at wall ≤20 mm.

Brinell hardness, F condition: 50–60 HBW

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval, not casting minimum. The table does not state a wall thickness for this main range; bracketed values refer to casting minima at wall ≤20 mm.

Brinell hardness, T6 condition: 70–80 HBW

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier branded AlMg3 cast alloy. The 2015 and 2016 PDFs are documents of one issuer, not independent votes. The current issuer HTML table differs for sand T6 and gravity F; those full mechanical rows and their bracketed casting minima are withheld pending revision clarification. The published main ranges have no stated wall thickness. Parenthetical casting minima apply to walls up to 20 mm and are not means or range endpoints. Be appears without a numeric composition limit. Electrical 16–23 MS/m is consistent across the 2015/2016 physical tables; their 27.5–40.0 versus 27.5–39.5 %IACS upper bounds are held. Supplier fatigue ranges lack cycle count and stress ratio. The 2015 REACH ingredient disclosure is not an ingot composition limit; its 400 °C ignition temperature is dust-only. No Peraluman-30-specific T6 thermal cycle is stated.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si—0.45
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn0.010.4
Mg2.73.5
Zn—0.1
Ti0.010.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.66kg/dm³Supplier approximate physical summary; temperature not reported
youngs modulus63–73GPaSupplier physical summary; temperature not reported
thermal expansion2410⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.3W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity16–23MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; temperature not separately reported; MS/m
linear shrinkage1.1–1.5%Supplier physical summary; sand casting; casting geometry and measurement protocol not reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.2%Supplier physical summary; gravity die casting; casting geometry and measurement protocol not reported
melt solidification range560–650°CSupplier melt/solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from cast-structure segregation
density2.66g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range560–650°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
supplier qualitative characteristicsSupplier describes excellent salt-water resistance, decorative anodising and mechanical-polishing suitability, elongation and impact toughness; no standardized test rating is stated.
supplier casting examplesThe handbook illustrates a gravity-die-cast support cylinder and door handle. Dimensions are product examples, not test-specimen sizes or wall-thickness qualifications for the performance ranges.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
yield strength≥ 60 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 4 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
yield strength≥ 110 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 12 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 70 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–80 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
fatigue resistance75–85 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
fatigue resistance90–100 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
fatigue resistance100–110 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Data under review

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: 2015/2016 original-supplier PDF values differ from the current original-supplier product table for the same grade and condition. No authorized revision explanation or measurement protocol resolves the difference.

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 50, Peraluman-30 Sand casting T6 tensile cell

Official Peraluman-30 product table, reviewed 2026-10-18 ↗ — HTML #per30, Sand casting T6 tensile cell

Elongation withheld: 2015/2016 original-supplier PDF values differ from the current original-supplier product table for the same grade and condition. No authorized revision explanation or measurement protocol resolves the difference.

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 50, Peraluman-30 Sand casting T6 elongation cell

Official Peraluman-30 product table, reviewed 2026-10-18 ↗ — HTML #per30, Sand casting T6 elongation cell

Brinell Hardness withheld: 2015/2016 original-supplier PDF values differ from the current original-supplier product table for the same grade and condition. No authorized revision explanation or measurement protocol resolves the difference.

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 50, Peraluman-30 Sand casting T6 hardness cell

Official Peraluman-30 product table, reviewed 2026-10-18 ↗ — HTML #per30, Sand casting T6 hardness cell

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: 2015/2016 original-supplier PDF values differ from the current original-supplier product table for the same grade and condition. No authorized revision explanation or measurement protocol resolves the difference.

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 50, Peraluman-30 Gravity die casting F tensile cell

Official Peraluman-30 product table, reviewed 2026-10-18 ↗ — HTML #per30, Gravity die casting F tensile cell

Electrical Conductivity withheld: 2015 original-supplier overview gives 27.5–40.0 %IACS while the 2016 handbook gives 27.5–39.5 %IACS in the same Peraluman-30 column. The differing upper bound is unexplained; neither interval is published. The concordant 16–23 MS/m is a separate claim.

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2015 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 5, Peraluman-30 electrical conductivity IACS column

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference ↗ — PDF p. 81, Peraluman-30 electrical conductivity IACS column

Evidence

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2015 casting reference — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Peraluman-30 technical information (REACH Article 32), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Original-supplier Peraluman-30 2016 casting reference — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page