alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Peraluman-36

Peraluman-36 / AlMg3Si (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | Sand and gravity die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

TemperWallYield MPaTensile MPaElong. %
F · Sand castingNot specified80–100140–1903–8
T6 · Sand castingNot specified160–220220–2802–8
F · Gravity die castingNot specified70–100160–2106–14
T6 · Gravity die castingNot specified160–220250–3005–15

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

F condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

T6 condition: Original-supplier performance interval. Sand/gravity data include separately cast and casting-extracted specimens (p. 75). No wall thickness is stated for this main range; bracketed casting minima at wall ≤20 mm are separate observations.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Original-supplier branded Peraluman-36 / AlMg3Si. The 2015 overview and 2016 handbook plus current product page are one issuer. Do not generalize these ranges to every AlMg3Si product. Main mechanical ranges have no stated wall thickness; p. 75 limits bracketed casting minima to walls up to 20 mm. Be is unbounded in the other-constituent cell; REACH ingredient disclosures are not ingot specification limits. The 2015 and 2016 %IACS upper bounds disagree (40.0 versus 39.5), so that unit is withheld. Fatigue intervals lack cycle count and stress ratio. No grade-specific T6 heat-treatment cycle is printed.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Si0.91.3
Fe—0.15
Cu—0.02
Mn0.010.4
Mg2.73.5
Zn—0.1
Ti0.010.15

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
density2.66kg/dm³Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
youngs modulus66–74GPaSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not separately reported
thermal expansion2410⁻⁶/KSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
thermal conductivity1.2W/(K·cm)Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
electrical conductivity15–23MS/mSupplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; MS/m; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage1.1–1.5%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; sand casting; temperature not separately reported
linear shrinkage0.8–1.2%Supplier physical summary; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; gravity die casting; temperature not separately reported
melt solidification range560–650°CSupplier melt and solidification range; includes partial-melting onset from segregation in cast structure
density2.66g/cm³Manufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; stated at 20 °C; product form not further specified
melting range560–650°CManufacturer REACH technical information, 2015 version 2; modification state and measurement method not stated

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
brinell hardness50–60 HBWSand casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 70 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 130 MPaSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 3 %Sand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 45 HBWSand casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance60–65 MPaSand casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness70–90 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 140 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 180 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 2 %Sand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 65 HBWSand casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance75–80 MPaSand casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness50–65 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 70 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 160 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 5 %Gravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 50 HBWGravity die casting; F; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance70–80 MPaGravity die casting; F; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
brinell hardness75–90 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier performance range; wall thickness not reported
yield strength≥ 150 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
ultimate tensile strength≥ 220 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
elongation≥ 5 %Gravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
brinell hardness≥ 75 HBWGravity die casting; T6; supplier casting minimum at wall thickness ≤20 mm
fatigue resistance80–90 MPaGravity die casting; T6; supplier summary; cycle count and stress ratio not reported
ignition temperature400 °CManufacturer REACH technical information; dust form only; not a bulk-alloy ignition temperature

Data under review

Electrical Conductivity withheld: 2015 original-supplier overview gives 26.0–40.0 %IACS; 2016 handbook gives 26.0–39.5 %IACS in the same aligned Peraluman-36 column. Revision or method is unexplained; neither interval is published. The separately concordant 15–23 MS/m column remains published in its own unit and condition.

Aluminium Casting Alloys overview, 2015 — Peraluman-36 ↗ — PDF p. 5, Peraluman-36 2015 physical continuation, electrical conductivity %IACS column

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Peraluman-36 ↗ — PDF p. 81, Peraluman-36 2016 physical continuation, electrical conductivity %IACS column

Evidence

Aluminium Casting Alloys overview, 2015 — Peraluman-36 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Peraluman-36 technical information (REACH), 2015 version 2 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Primary Aluminium Casting Alloys handbook, 2016 — Peraluman-36 — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page