alloymap.Ounce Works ↗

Back to AlloyMap

Silafont-38

Silafont-38 / AlSi9MnMgZn (RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS) | High-pressure die casting

Manufacturer-reported values. Do not use as certified design allowables. View sources ↗

No complete reviewed mechanical condition. Separately reviewed property observations appear below.

Chemical composition

Only reviewed weight-percent bounds are listed. A blank bound means only the other threshold was reported.

Element / source labelMinimum wt%Upper wt%
Fe—0.15
Cu0.10.4
Ti—0.15

The original supplier's 2015 and 2017 Silafont-38 editions differ in Si, Mn, Mg and Zn composition intervals and F/T6 mechanical ranges; the current family page repeats the 2015 mechanical table. Only matching chemistry cells and mechanical partial observations are published. The 2016 physical table conflicts with 2017 for density, thermal conductivity and electrical conductivity; those are held. 2016-only heat-treated physical entries are edition-labelled and not transferred to a 2017 formulation. Sr and Zr rows are not treated as equivalent. The 2017 detailed specimen tables mix AlSi9MnMgZn headers with AlSi9MnMgZr captions and are not digitized. No composite mechanical chart is constructed from the editions.

Physical and thermal properties

PropertyReported valueUnitCondition
youngs modulus74–83GPa2016 primary-alloys handbook edition; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; test temperature not reported
thermal expansion2110⁻⁶/K2016 primary-alloys handbook edition; heat-treatable alloy in heat-treated state; 20–200 °C
linear shrinkage0.4–0.6%HPDC; original-supplier 2015 processing comparison and 2017 physical table; casting geometry not specified

Processing properties

Source-reported comparisons, not certified limits.

PropertyReported value
mold releaseSupplier describes low die/mold sticking tendency; no numeric adhesion or release test is supplied.
machinabilitySupplier describes excellent machinability; no quantitative cutting protocol is supplied.

Additional property data

Source-reported values, specification intervals, minimums and strict bounds; an average is labeled only when the source reports it. Compare conditions before use.

PropertyValueCondition
ultimate tensile strength270–300 MPaHPDC; F; 2015 and 2017 supplier performance rows agree on this cell; wall and specimen size not reported
elongation6–9 %HPDC; T6; water quench; 2015 and 2017 supplier performance rows agree on this cell; wall and specimen size not reported

Data under review

Composition Si withheld: The 2015 and 2017 original-supplier Si composition limits differ. Do not merge editions or publish one specification without issuer clarification.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 composition_Si comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 composition_Si comparison

Composition Mn withheld: The 2015 and 2017 original-supplier Mn composition limits differ. Do not merge editions or publish one specification without issuer clarification.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 composition_Mn comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 composition_Mn comparison

Composition Mg withheld: The 2015 and 2017 original-supplier Mg composition limits differ. Do not merge editions or publish one specification without issuer clarification.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 composition_Mg comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 composition_Mg comparison

Composition Zn withheld: The 2015 and 2017 original-supplier Zn composition limits differ. Do not merge editions or publish one specification without issuer clarification.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 composition_Zn comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 composition_Zn comparison

Yield Strength withheld: The same HPDC F YTS performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Elongation withheld: The same HPDC F Elongation performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 elongation comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 elongation comparison

Yield Strength withheld: The same HPDC T6; water quench YTS performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: The same HPDC T6; water quench UTS performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 ultimate_tensile_strength comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 ultimate_tensile_strength comparison

Yield Strength withheld: The same HPDC T6; air quench YTS performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 yield_strength comparison

Ultimate Tensile Strength withheld: The same HPDC T6; air quench UTS performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 ultimate_tensile_strength comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 ultimate_tensile_strength comparison

Elongation withheld: The same HPDC T6; air quench Elongation performance interval differs between 2015 and 2017 original-supplier editions. Neither range is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition ↗ — PDF p. 2, Silafont-38 elongation comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 elongation comparison

Density withheld: The original-supplier 2016 physical summary and 2017 structural-casts edition report different density; no blend or preferred value is published.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2016 edition ↗ — PDF p. 80, Silafont-38 density comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 density comparison

Thermal Conductivity withheld: The original-supplier 2016 physical summary and 2017 structural-casts edition report different thermal_conductivity; no blend or preferred value is published.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2016 edition ↗ — PDF p. 80, Silafont-38 thermal_conductivity comparison

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 thermal_conductivity comparison

Electrical Conductivity withheld: The original-supplier 2016 physical summary gives 36.0–38.0 %IACS, while the 2017 structural-casts edition gives 36.0–41.5 %IACS. Neither interval is selected.

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2016 edition ↗ — PDF p. 81, Silafont-38 electrical conductivity facing row, %IACS column

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition ↗ — PDF p. 9, Silafont-38 electrical conductivity physical-table column

Evidence

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2015 edition — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2016 edition — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Silafont-38 original-supplier 2017 edition — RHEINFELDEN ALLOYS GmbH & Co. KG

Show the exact source location for each value

Official issuer page